It’s SEPTEMBER Already?

How quickly the the summer flies by. You wait for it, plan outings and fun, assuming you’ll get good weather (never fails, it rains that day you were sure of heat) and then… it’s suddenly over. September brings routines; some new, some re-established. And then, like clockwork: a cold nip in the air! You feel it on your arms first, that little bite of cold in the morning  that announces the change of the seasons. Time to KNIT vests, coats, hats and scarves (!) Okay, 12 of them. I started with a RED one for myself. Then a few knit deprived  souls pleaded and raved loudly about them so I got this Eureka moment: I’ll knit one for all on my Christmas list! Like a locomotive train on  the Kamloops/ Jasper corridor I  chugged along, churning them out one after another after another…

The first 5! (that RED one is MINE) currently on #12 right now (it's a secret still)

The first 5! (that RED one is MINE) currently I’m already on #12 but most of those are… (secret)

^ This was a small side dish of summer knitting.  I spent most of the summer on a  cabled wonder for myself (I aim to be very warm when this  predicted COLD Fall/winter gets here)

"Ecole Militaire" however I  changed the pattern so dang much it does NOT resemble it original designers idea. (I added pockets, facings, back tabs, cuff plackets and buttons)  Extra work that took all SUMMER long.

“Ecole Militaire” However, I changed the pattern so dang much it does NOT resemble it original designer’s idea. (I added pockets, chenille facings, a back tab, cuff plackets and buttons) Extra work that took all SUMMER long.

 

Oh Yah! I knit a hat to match too.

Oh Yah! I knit a hat to match too.

Some of this knitting was done while  ~ahem~ ON VACATION!! Yes Air Canada let me board their plane with that daunting cable pin! I prid near knit a whole sleeve  just waiting to board! (It was my ~shoes~ that set off the security alarm! There I sat without shoes for almost an hour! Turns out I had creosode  on them from being near those dang train tracks! Who knew?  Of all the things to upset an airport!)

This plane took me to KAMLOOPS B.C.  A 20 minute flight there, an 80 minute flight home! (Rough air currents at 6 am)

This plane took me to KAMLOOPS B.C.    A  20 minute flight there, an 80 minute flight back! (Rough air currents at 6 am)

But what a nice time I had in Beautiful British Columbia’s interior.  We did  long drives that got us lost.

There were 14 ! of these inquisitive faces on the side of the road where we pulled off to  test the GPS  for correctness. As Tammy  cursed at the  GPS box, I admired  the inquisitive black Percheron beauties to our  right.  We we in the middle of now where with 14 very large horses.

There were 14 ! of these inquisitive faces on the side of the road where we pulled off to test the GPS for correctness. As Tammy cursed at the GPS box, I admired the lovely black Percheron beauties to our right. We we in the middle of nowhere with 14 very large horses!

We did finally make it to Armstrong B.C. Land of CHEESE and sheep and bunnies. Oh and WOOL. The whole town was gearing up for a cheese and sheep festival with lots of alpaca, merino, quivet and  other various other unnamed sheep rovings – all over fun for knitters and weavers. It was ~here~ that I melted down, having LOST my camera! Classic Louise. A huge upset that involved many  who helped me to find my dang camera (I had buried it in the lovely sheep wool LABEL of the  yarn I had purchased!) (?) Crisis averted,  we  then went on our way and toured the many apple orchards of Vernon. B.C.  The color of Land in these parts is rather  colorless. True desert wilderness. However,  the color of the many lakes took me quite by surprise. From intense aqua blue to Lime Lime green. Was I drugged?  Nope. This was our Beautiful ~Natural~ British Columbia! Thems are  KNITTERS colors! I tried to capture the color of fun.

I'm seeing GREEN.  There IS this color  naturally occurring in our land!! Who knew?

I’m seeing GREEN. This color  does naturally occur in life!! Who knew?

Young Apples.  I got to eat one right off the tree!

Young Apples. I got to eat one right off the tree!

dscf9332I rowed.

I knit

Then I  knit

dscf9349 I swam that hot day until a fish touched my leg! Then I came out Pronto like!

Tammy showing the missing paddle! That day we  found ourselves; Literally up a certain creek without a paddle!

Tammy, showing the missing paddle! That day we found ourselves; Literally up a certain creek without a paddle! It struck my funny bone. Hard.

Which one of these chickens thinks  3 am is "WON DER FULL"? (the black rooster -who is hiding of course)

Which one of these chickens thinks 3 am is “WON DER FULL”? (the black rooster -who is hiding from me, of course)

There were some very strange insects there...

There were some very strange insects there…

This is  an undergriund beetle. Yah. so WHY is not UNDER ground?

This is an underground beetle. Yah. So WHY is it not UNDER ground?

They come up to DIE!  (?)

They come up to DIE! (?)

its hiding..but among the reeds is amost lovely BLUE/YELLOW dragonfly.

It’s hiding.. but among the reeds here  is the most lovely BLUE/YELLOW dragonfly. They did not like to be photographed. I was sure I had caught one!

Oh lets not forget this CRICKET! He desided to HIDE in my ~ahem~ bossom!  ..then came OUT while inside  Tammy's jeep while she drove. Ahaha Tammy does not like crickets... I found out that day while climbing a steep hill along the mountainside...

Oh lets not forget this CRICKET! He decided to HIDE in my ~ahem~ bosom! ..then came OUT while inside Tammy’s jeep, while she drove. Ahaha.  Tammy does not like crickets… So I found out that day while climbing a steep hill up the mountainside…

"Moggley"  Kept me company while I waited to get a photo of that train...

“Moggley” Kept me company while I waited to get a photo of that train…

One of the many trains that came by...it became a game to guess which direction they were traveling or if passenger of freight...

One of the many trains that came by. It became a game to guess which direction they were traveling or if passenger of freight…

 

Loki. yah ok I forgot to get a picture of Tammy's cat... My bad. : )

Loki. yah ok I forgot to get a picture of Tammy’s cat… My bad. : )

 

 

About 7veravera

In love with: Jeeps, tweed, knitting and the color red. Currently convalessing from a serious traffic accident which left me with a paralysed right foot. (the DRIVING foot) Oiy. I have a live horse and a hand knitted dog. We live in the Surrey B.C. area. I'm renovating my house and find a new crisis to conquer every day. Currently the new front door I bought is too big for the stair case leading up to it. That's is ME to a T.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

